Download

Article · Pricing · AI Answering Service

Cheap Answering Service: What You'll Actually Pay in 2026

What a cheap answering service really costs: voicemail, human services and AI receptionist plans compared, with overage, trials and a worked monthly bill.

TL;DR

  • Voicemail is free but only records a message. As of October 2026, paid AI answering services start at $24.95 a month for 30 calls (one has a free plan for 25), and Ruby's human receptionists start at $250 for 50 minutes.
  • The entry price is rarely the bill: compare what's included, the overage rate and which features need a higher plan, at your own call volume.
  • Juney is $49 a month with 150 minutes (about 75 calls), then top-ups of 100 minutes for $20, bought in the app, with a 7-day free trial first (as of October 2026). Some services start lower or include more minutes.
On this page 8 sections

A low headline price can turn into a big bill once you pass the allowance, or into a service that can't book the job until you upgrade. The way to find the low cost option for your business is to price your own month of calls, not the cheapest plan on the page.

What is the cheapest answering service or AI receptionist?

The cheapest answering service is the voicemail you already have, at no extra cost. The cheapest paid options are AI answering services (also called AI receptionists): as of October 2026, Smith.ai has a free plan for 25 calls a month, and AIRA and Upfirst start at $24.95 a month for 30 calls. The human services we checked cost more: Ruby starts at $250 a month for 50 minutes, and Nexa quotes on request.

Which one is cheapest for you depends on two numbers: how many calls you get a month, and how long they last. A plan built for 30 calls is a good deal at 25 calls and an expensive one at 90.

What does each type of low cost answering service give you?

Each type trades price against what happens when a customer rings. Voicemail is free but leaves the caller waiting for you. A human service gives you a real person, at a higher price per call in the services we checked. An AI answering service answers live for a monthly fee, and the better ones book the job and send you the details.

Voicemail: free, but it only takes a message

Voicemail comes with your phone plan. It records a message, and that's all: the caller can't get an answer, book a time or reach anyone urgent. If you get a few calls a week and always ring back within the hour, voicemail may be all you need.

Human answering services: a real person, priced by the minute

A human answering service puts a receptionist on your calls. As of October 2026, Ruby's plans start at $250 a month for 50 minutes, which works out to $5 a minute, or about 25 two-minute calls. Nexa doesn't publish prices at all: you get a quote, and its plans page mentions a setup fee. What you pay for is a real person who can handle an unusual call with warmth. That's a genuine strength, and some owners want it.

AI answering services: a live answer for a monthly fee

An AI answering service answers the calls you forward to it, talks to the caller using what it knows about your business, and books the job, takes a message or puts the caller through. Entry plans start at free (with tight caps), and what's included varies widely. Trades owners have one more thing to check: whether they can set it up and run it from the phone in the van, because some services need a computer for setup. Juney is built for the trades; the AI answering service for trades page shows how it handles trade calls.

How do answering services charge?

Answering services charge in one of four ways, and the catch in each is what happens past the allowance:

  • Per call: a set number of calls, then a fee for each extra call, however short.
  • Per minute: a set number of minutes, then a rate for each extra minute.
  • Flat with a cap: one price for a fixed number of calls, then a push to upgrade.
  • Per unique caller: a price for the number of different people who call.

How much do cheap answering services cost? (October 2026)

The lowest real prices, as of October 2026, are $0 for voicemail or a capped free AI plan, about $25 to $29 a month for the lowest-priced paid AI plans, and $250 a month for the human service we checked with published prices. Prices are in US dollars per month, checked on each vendor's own pricing page on 22 October 2026, and they change often, so check before you buy.

ServiceEntry planWhat's includedPast the limitTrial or free option
Your voicemail$0Messages onlyn/an/a
Smith.ai (AI, human agents optional)$0 (Free plan)25 calls$3.00 a callFree plan; card required
AIRA (AI)$24.9530 calls$1.50 a callNot stated on its pricing page
Upfirst (AI)$24.9530 calls$1.50 a call14-day trial
Beside (AI)$29 (Baseline)30 AI-answered callsPrompts an upgrade ($99 plan)No trial on Baseline
Dialzara (AI)$2960 minutes48¢ a minute7-day trial
Ruby (human)$25050 minutesNot publishedNot stated

Every AI service in that table starts below Juney's $49. Others include more for the money at Juney's price: Rosie and Marlie both include 250 minutes at $49, against Juney's 150 (as of October 2026). Beside's phone lines are for the US and Canada only.

Sources (checked 22 October 2026): Smith.ai, AIRA, Upfirst, Beside, Dialzara, Ruby, Nexa, Rosie, Marlie.

What will you actually pay for your call volume?

Your real monthly cost is the plan price plus overage for anything over the allowance, so work it out from your own calls. Count last month's business calls (your phone's call history or your carrier's bill will show them) and guess the average length. Then take the calls or minutes over each plan's allowance and multiply by its overage rate.

For example, take 40 calls a month at about 2 minutes each (80 minutes), as of October 2026, before tax and any phone carrier charges:

  • Dialzara: $38.60 ($29 plus 20 minutes at 48¢).
  • AIRA or Upfirst: $39.95 ($24.95 plus 10 calls at $1.50).
  • Smith.ai free plan: $45 (15 calls at $3.00).
  • Juney: $49 (80 of the 150 included minutes).
  • Beside: 40 calls is past the Baseline plan's 30, so it prompts an upgrade to the $99 plan.
  • Ruby: 80 minutes is past its 50-minute plan; its 100-minute plan is $395.

At this volume Dialzara, AIRA, Upfirst and Smith.ai's free plan all cost less than Juney. The order changes as your calls grow or get longer, which is why your own numbers matter more than the entry price. Bills for ten services at three call volumes are in AI Answering Service Pricing Compared: Real Monthly Bills in 2026.

What to do: price your own month on two or three services. Use your real call count and length, and include the plan you'd need for the features you want, not just the entry plan.

What costs aren't in the headline price?

The costs that catch owners out are overage, features locked to a higher plan, setup fees, upfront annual payments and charges from your own phone carrier. Check each one before you sign up.

  • Overage. Look up the rate past your allowance as well as the plan price. On the entry plans above it's $1.50 to $3.00 a call, or 48¢ a minute on Dialzara. Juney sells top-ups instead: $20 for 100 minutes, bought in the app, and they don't expire (as of October 2026).
  • Features on a higher plan. Booking into your calendar is where entry plans differ most. Rosie's $49 plan texts callers a booking link, but direct calendar booking and transfers start on its $149 plan; Marlie's calendar booking starts at $99 (as of October 2026). If you need the job booked, price the plan that books it.
  • Setup fees and contracts. Most AI services we checked show no setup fee and no long-term contract. Nexa's plans page mentions a setup fee without stating the amount.
  • Paying a year upfront. Annual plans cost less per month but take the money in one go. Juney's annual plan is $490 paid upfront (as of October 2026); AIRA and Upfirst take about 20% off for annual billing.
  • Your phone carrier. Many answering services, Juney included, work by call forwarding, which is part of your phone plan. Many plans include it at no extra cost, but some charge per forwarded call or count forwarded minutes against your allowance, and prepaid plans often can't forward at all. The help article Does call forwarding cost anything? lists what to ask your carrier.

How AI pricing works across the market, and what moves the bill, is in How Much Does an AI Answering Service Cost in 2026?.

What to do: before you pay, write down the plan you'd really need, its overage rate, any setup fee and whether your carrier charges for forwarding. That's your real price.

Where does Juney fit on price?

Juney costs $49 a month, or $490 a year paid upfront, with 150 minutes a month on both plans (as of October 2026). Juney's estimate is that 150 minutes covers about 75 calls, depending on how long they last. Past that, you buy top-ups of 100 minutes for $20 in the app, and they don't expire, so 50 minutes over takes one top-up and adds $20. You start with a 7-day free trial that includes 50 answering minutes. It's a free trial, not a free plan, and there's no setup fee and no contract. Prices are in US dollars, and Juney works with business numbers in the US, the UK, Australia and Canada. See Juney's plans and free trial.

The same features come with both plans: Google Calendar booking, moving and canceling, putting urgent callers through to another number such as a second mobile (Juney tells whoever answers who's calling before she connects them), texting a booking link during the call, and a summary of every call by app notification, plus email if you turn it on. Juney is set up and run from your phone. No computer, no dashboard. You keep your number by forwarding your calls to it. Juney is built by Trillet, the voice AI platform trusted by over 4,000 businesses.

If you're shopping for an answering service because you don't want to hand over your phone, you don't have to. In Ringing mode, choose Ring me first and the Juney app rings you for about 15 seconds before she picks up. Take the call and you're talking to the customer yourself, and that call doesn't use your Juney minutes; let it ring out and Juney answers. It only rings while you're signed in on your phone; signed out, Juney answers straight away. The help article Ring your phone first has the steps. Or choose Straight to Juney and she takes every call.

A low price is worth little if the service handles your calls badly. During setup, hear Juney on a test call before any customer does, check what she learned about your services and prices, and read the summary of every call so you can fix anything she got wrong.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a free answering service?

Your voicemail is free. Some AI services have free plans with tight limits: as of October 2026, Smith.ai's free plan covers 25 calls a month, then charges $3.00 a call. Juney has a 7-day free trial with 50 minutes, not a free plan.

How many calls do 150 minutes cover?

Juney estimates about 75 calls a month, depending on call length. That works out to about 2 minutes a call. If your calls run longer, you'll get fewer calls from the same minutes, and need a top-up ($20 for 100 minutes, as of October 2026) sooner. Only the calls Juney answers count: calls you pick up yourself when your phone rings first don't use minutes.

What happens if I go over my minutes with Juney?

You buy a top-up in the app: $20 for 100 minutes, and top-up minutes don't expire (as of October 2026). Without one, Juney stops answering until you top up or your minutes renew. For example, 300 minutes in a month is the $49 plan plus two $20 top-ups, or $89 in all.

Does call forwarding cost extra?

It depends on your phone plan, not on Juney. Many plans include forwarding to a local number at no extra cost, but some charge for each forwarded call or count forwarded minutes against your allowance, and prepaid plans often can't forward at all. Ask your carrier before you switch it on.

Updated for October 2026: clarified the name and behavior of Ring me first.

Facts in this article are current as of October 2026.

Juney app icon

The Juney app

Get Juney on your phone.

Set up in a few minutes. Your number stays the same.

  • iPhoneDownload on the App Store
  • AndroidGet it on Google Play

7-day free trial · 50 minutes included