Download

Article · Pricing · AI Answering Service

AI Answering Service Free Trial: How to Test One Before You Pay

An AI receptionist free trial, a free plan and a money-back guarantee aren't the same. What each means, trial terms compared, and a 7-day test plan.

TL;DR

  • A free trial lends you the paid service for a set number of days. A free plan stays free but caps your calls. A money-back guarantee means you pay first and claim a refund.
  • As of October 2026, most AI answering services we checked offer 7 to 14 days. Check whether a card is needed and what happens on the last day.
  • Run it on real calls: set it up, call it with hard questions, read every call's notes.
  • Juney: a 7-day free trial with 50 answering minutes, $0 due today (as of October 2026).
On this page 8 sections

A trial only tells you something if you run it like a working week, not a demo. Set it up properly, test it hard and read every call, and seven days is enough to know whether an AI receptionist suits your business.

What's the difference between a free trial, a free plan and a money-back guarantee?

They differ in when you pay and when the free part stops. A free trial ends on a set date, a free plan never ends but caps your calls, and a money-back guarantee charges you first and refunds you on the vendor's terms.

OfferWhat you pay at the startWhat you getWhen the free part ends
Free trialUsually nothing, though some take a cardThe paid plan's features for 7 to 14 daysOn a set date, when billing starts or the service stops
Free planNothing, though some take a cardA capped number of calls or minutes each monthIt doesn't, but calls past the cap cost extra
Money-back guaranteeThe plan priceThe paid planYou pay from day one; the refund depends on the vendor's conditions

If you want a free AI receptionist for a small business, a free plan is the closest thing, and the cap is the catch. As of October 2026, Smith.ai gives you 25 free calls a month and charges $3.00 for each one after, and Phonely gives you 100 free minutes. A business that gets a few calls a day passes 25 calls inside two weeks. Cheap Answering Service: What You'll Actually Pay in 2026 works out what those caps cost at real call volumes.

Do you need a card for a free trial, and what happens when it ends?

It depends on the service, so check its pricing page or FAQ before you sign up. A trial that takes no card has nothing to charge when it ends. A trial that takes a card can start billing when the free days end, unless you cancel first.

As of October 2026, Upfirst and Frontdesk say no card is needed for their trials. Marlie asks for a card at checkout with "$0 due today" and says you can cancel before the first charge. Beside's $99 Unlimited plan needs a payment method for its seven free days, then "bills automatically". Smith.ai's free plan also takes a card at signup and says it won't charge until you authorize it.

What to do: before you sign up, write down three answers. Is a card needed? On what date does the first charge land? How do you cancel: in the app, on a website, or by emailing support? Put the date in your calendar a day early.

Which AI answering services offer a free trial in 2026?

Most of the services we checked offer a free trial, a free plan or a free demo, but the terms differ. The table shows what each vendor's own pages said on 22 October 2026. "Not stated" means we couldn't find it on those pages, not that the answer is no.

ServiceWhat you can try freeCard at signupWhen it endsContract terms
Juney7-day free trial with 50 answering minutes$0 due todayStops unless you've turned on automatic billing; then $49 a month or $490 a yearNo setup fee, no contract
Upfirst14-day trial with every feature of the plan you pick, on real callsNo cardNot statedCancel, upgrade or downgrade anytime
Marlie14-day trialCard at checkout, $0 due todayYou can cancel before the first chargeCancel anytime, no long-term contracts
Rosie7-day trialNo card to startNot statedNot stated
Dialzara7-day trial on its inbound voice plansNot statedNot statedNo long-term contracts, no setup fees
Frontdesk7-day trialNo cardNot statedNo contracts, cancel anytime
Beside7 days free on the $99 Unlimited plan; the $29 Baseline plan has no trialPayment method for the trialUnlimited bills automatically unless canceled; Baseline bills straight awayNot stated
Smith.aiFree plan: 25 calls a month, then $3.00 a callCard requiredThe free plan doesn't expireMonth to month, no contract on self-serve plans
PhonelyFree plan: 100 minutes a monthNot statedNot statedNot stated
GoodcallA free demo agent you build and test before payingNot statedYou pay when you connect a numberNot stated
FonioNo free trial; a 30-day money-back guaranteePaid planNot statedNot stated

Sources (checked 22 October 2026): Upfirst, Marlie pricing and FAQ, Rosie, Dialzara, Frontdesk, Beside, Smith.ai, Phonely, Goodcall and Fonio. Fonio prices in euros.

Fonio's guarantee has no published terms, so ask before you rely on it.

How do you get real value from a 7-day trial?

Treat the week as a test with a plan: set the service up properly on day one, try to trip it up yourself, let real calls through, and read every call. A trial spent on a half-finished setup tells you nothing about how the service would handle your customers.

Day 1: set it up the way you'd really run it

Give it your real services, the prices you'd quote on the phone, your hours and the reasons people ring you. Add the number urgent callers should go to, and connect your calendar if you want bookings.

Days 1 and 2: call it yourself before customers do

Call it from your own phone and play your most awkward customers. A good test list for a trade business:

  • A price question you've answered: "What's your service call fee?" Does it quote your figure, word for word?
  • A price question you haven't: "How much to replace a water heater?" It should take the details and say you'll confirm, not invent a number.
  • A job you don't do, or a town you don't cover. Does it say no politely and take a message?
  • An urgent call. Describe a burst pipe or no heat in winter. Does it put the caller through to the number you chose?
  • A booking, then a change. Book a slot, call back and ask to move it. Check your calendar afterward.

With Juney, you do this with Call her yourself, as often as you like; the help article Call Juney yourself shows where it lives.

Days 3 to 6: let real calls through

Forward your calls once the test calls pass. If you'd rather not hand every call over in week one, open Ringing mode in Juney and choose Ring me first. It rings for about 15 seconds, then she answers. You take the calls you can, she takes the rest, and calls you answer yourself don't use minutes. The Juney app can ring you with Ring me first while you're signed in. If you're signed out, Juney picks up straight away. The steps are in the help article Ring your phone first.

Every evening: read the call notes

Read each call's summary, and the transcript for any call that matters. Check four things:

  1. Did it get the facts right? Prices, hours, the area you cover.
  2. Did it do the right thing? Booked when it should have, put the urgent caller through, took a message when it didn't know.
  3. Did it capture what you need to call back? Name, number, address, what the job is.
  4. How did the caller sound? Rushed, confused or happy to carry on.

Fix what caused each mistake that evening, then check the same kind of call the next day. A mistake that stays fixed is a good sign; one that keeps coming back is a reason to walk away.

Day 7: decide with a short list

Keep it if it handled most calls the way you would, its mistakes were easy to fix, and the calls it took were worth more than the monthly price. Walk away if you spent the week correcting it. If you stop, switch call forwarding off so calls ring your own phone again.

What do "no contract" and "month to month" actually mean?

"No contract" means there's no minimum term: you can stop without paying out the rest of a year. "Month to month" means you're billed one month at a time. Together they mean the most you risk is the month you're in, but read how cancellation works, because "anytime" can still mean the end of the billing period.

As of October 2026, most self-serve AI answering services we checked work this way: Smith.ai's self-serve plans are month to month with no contract, AIRA says "no long-term contracts", and Marlie says you can cancel anytime. Setup fees turn up elsewhere: Nexa, a human answering service, mentions one without stating the amount.

Annual plans are the exception. They cost less per month but take a year's payment in one go, so start monthly until you're sure. Juney's annual plan, for example, costs $490 in one payment, which works out to ten months' price for twelve (as of October 2026).

What to do: find three things on the pricing page: a setup fee, a minimum term and how you cancel. If one is missing, email the vendor and keep the reply.

Can you get an AI receptionist for under $100 a month?

Yes. As of October 2026, nearly every AI answering service we checked has an entry plan under $100, from $24.95 at AIRA and Upfirst to $99 at Frontdesk. The catch is the plan you'd actually need: booking into your calendar or putting calls through sits on a higher plan at some services, such as Rosie's $149 Scale plan.

Juney includes booking and putting callers through on both its monthly and annual plans. At $49 a month with 150 minutes, then top-ups of 100 minutes for $20 bought in the app, a month stays under $100 up to 350 minutes: $49 plus two $20 top-ups is $89 (as of October 2026). That's about 175 calls at two minutes each.

What does Juney's free trial include?

Juney starts with a 7-day free trial that includes 50 answering minutes, with $0 due today, no setup fee and no contract (as of October 2026). The trial is a free trial. It isn't a free plan or a money-back guarantee. Juney's pricing section lists $49 a month, or $490 once a year on the annual plan, with 150 minutes a month and top-ups of 100 minutes for $20, which don't expire.

You can run the whole test plan in the app on your phone, with no computer and no dashboard: Juney learns your business from your website, you check what she found, and the app shows the forwarding steps for your carrier. Calls are forwarded, so you keep your number during the trial and after it. Check the limits fit before you start: she speaks English, books into Google Calendar, and takes calls for business numbers in four countries (the US, Canada, the UK and Australia). Juney is built by Trillet, the voice AI platform trusted by over 4,000 businesses.

When the trial ends, it simply stops unless you've turned on automatic billing. Questions about billing go to the Juney team at support@juney.ai. The plans are on Juney's pricing.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long is an AI receptionist free trial?

As of October 2026, 7 to 14 days at most of the services we checked: 14 days at Upfirst and Marlie, and 7 days at Rosie, Dialzara, Frontdesk, Beside's $99 plan and Juney. Some services offer a free plan or a demo agent instead of a timed trial.

Are 50 minutes enough to test an AI answering service?

For a quiet week, usually. Fifty minutes is about 25 two-minute calls, so a busy week can use them up before day 7. Choose Ring me first in the Juney app and take the calls you can: calls you pick up yourself don't use minutes.

Is a money-back guarantee better than a free trial?

Not usually for a small business. With a guarantee you pay first and the refund depends on conditions you have to read; with a free trial nothing is charged until the trial ends, if at all. A guarantee can still be fair, so ask for its terms in writing before you pay.

How do I get my calls back if I don't keep the service?

Switch call forwarding off on your business phone, the same way you switched it on. Your carrier then sends calls straight to your phone again. Juney's help center shows how for iPhone, Android, landlines and VoIP services.

Updated for October 2026: clarified the name and behavior of Ring me first.

Facts in this article are current as of October 2026.

Juney app icon

The Juney app

Get Juney on your phone.

Set up in a few minutes. Your number stays the same.

  • iPhoneDownload on the App Store
  • AndroidGet it on Google Play

7-day free trial · 50 minutes included