Article · Comparison · Pricing
Smith.ai vs Ruby (2026): Pricing and 24/7 Coverage Compared
Smith.ai vs Ruby, checked October 2026: per-call AI and human plans against Ruby's per-minute receptionists, with 24/7 coverage and bills at 30 to 150 calls.

TL;DR
- Ruby is human receptionists billed by the minute ($250 for 50 minutes). Smith.ai is mainly an AI receptionist billed by the call (free for 25 calls, Pro from $150), with plans that add live agents. Prices as of October 2026.
- At 75 two-minute calls a month: Smith.ai's AI costs $150, its human plan $810, Ruby $720.
- Both answer 24/7 at no extra charge. Ruby puts a person on every call; Smith.ai, AI with people on chosen calls.
- Juney is a third option: AI with no staff, $49 for 150 minutes, run from a phone app.
On this page 9 sections
Both services sell the same promise, a professional answer when you can't pick up, but they bill on different units and put different things on the line. Every price below was read off Smith.ai's and Ruby's own pages on 22 October 2026.
What's the difference between Smith.ai and Ruby?
Ruby is a team of live, US-based receptionists who answer your calls by the minute. Smith.ai leads with an AI receptionist charged per call, and sells two ways to add people: Hybrid plans, where chosen calls go to live agents, and human-first plans priced like a traditional answering service.
So the real question isn't "which company", it's which kind of answer you want:
- A person on every call: Ruby, or Smith.ai's human plans.
- AI on every call, a person on some: Smith.ai's AI plans with escalation, or its Hybrid plans.
- AI on every call, and you as the backup: an AI answering service (AI receptionist) such as Juney, whose Juney app rings you with Ring me first.
How do Smith.ai and Ruby compare side by side?
The table puts the two services next to each other, with Juney as a third column. Checked on each vendor's own pages in October 2026; "Not stated" means we didn't find it, not that the answer is no.
| What we compared | Smith.ai | Ruby | Juney |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who answers | AI; live agents on Hybrid and human plans, or as a per-call add-on | Live receptionists, US-based | AI; the Juney app rings you with Ring me first |
| How it bills | Per call | Per minute, each call rounded up to the next minute | By the minute: a monthly allowance, then top-ups |
| Entry price | AI: free for 25 calls (card required), Pro $150 for 75. Human: $300 for 30 calls | $250 for 50 minutes | $49 for 150 minutes |
| Past the allowance | AI: $3.00 a call on the free plan, $2.50 on Pro 75. Human: $11.50 a call on Starter | A per-plan overage rate Ruby doesn't publish | Top-ups: $20 per 100 minutes, no expiry |
| 24/7 | Yes, on AI and human plans | Yes, 24/7/365 | Yes, if you set Juney to answer always |
| Spanish | English and Spanish; $1.00 a call on human plans | Spanish bilingual service included (its FAQ gives both 24/7 and weekday hours) | English only |
| Booking | AI scheduling with Calendly and others; $1.50 a call on human plans | Scheduling in compatible online calendars | Google Calendar |
| Your number | A dedicated Smith.ai number on AI plans; free porting on human plans | Forward all calls or use carrier busy/no-answer forwarding; Ruby-hosted number also available | Keep your number; calls are forwarded |
| Setup | About 15 minutes in its web Quality Studio | Scripts arranged with Ruby's staff | In the app, with a test call |
| App | No native app found | iPhone and Android app for messages, usage and routing | iPhone and Android; no web dashboard |
| Canceling | Month to month; 30 days' notice on AI and Hybrid plans | No long-term contract; ends with the billing period | No contract, no setup fee |
| Countries | Not stated for AI plans | US, Canada and the US Caribbean | US, Canada, UK and Australia |
Sources, checked 22 October 2026: Smith.ai AI plans, Smith.ai AI receptionist, Smith.ai Hybrid plans, Smith.ai human plans, Ruby pricing and Ruby FAQs. Prices are US dollars per month.
How much does each cost at 30, 75 and 150 calls a month?
At 75 two-minute calls, Smith.ai's AI plan costs $150 and the two human options cost $720 to $810. Each bill below uses the lowest-cost plan for that month, as of October 2026, before tax and carrier charges. Calls average two minutes, and every call is answered by the service.
| Monthly calls (minutes) | Smith.ai AI | Smith.ai human | Ruby | Juney |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 calls (60 min) | $15 (free plan, overages on) | $300 (30-call plan) | $395 (100-minute plan) | $49 |
| 75 calls (150 min) | $150 (Pro, 75 calls) | $810 (90-call plan) | $720 (200-minute plan) | $49 |
| 150 calls (300 min) | $270 (Pro, 150 calls) | $1,440 ($810 plus 60 calls at $10.50) | $1,725 (500-minute plan) | $89 ($49 plus two $20 top-ups) |
Three things move these numbers:
- Ruby's overage rate isn't published. Ruby bills minutes past your plan at that plan's own rate and doesn't move you up automatically. We priced the plan that covers the minutes; ask Ruby for the rate before you pick a smaller one.
- Ruby rounds every call up. It bills in whole minutes and counts hold time, so a 90-second call costs two minutes.
- Hybrid sits in between. Smith.ai puts Hybrid at about $2.50 a call and up, depending on how many calls go to people. Its own estimator shows $771 to $1,131 at 300 calls a month.
The full human-versus-AI arithmetic, including Nexa and AIRA, is in AI vs Human Answering Service Cost: What You'd Pay in 2026.
What to do: count last month's business calls in your phone's call history and work out your own bill on each plan, including the one-minute rounding for Ruby.
How does 24/7 coverage compare?
Both cover every hour of the year without a night or weekend surcharge. Ruby's receptionists answer 24/7/365, and Ruby says there are no fees for "coverage during certain periods". Smith.ai's AI answers around the clock, and its human plans are live-staffed 24/7 at no extra cost.
The difference is who answers at 2 AM:
- Ruby: a person, every time. Its Spanish bilingual service is included at no extra cost, but Ruby's FAQ says 24/7 in one answer and Monday to Friday, 5 AM to 6 PM Pacific, for bilingual and outbound calls in another. If Spanish calls come in at night, ask Ruby which is right.
- Smith.ai AI plans: the AI, with an escalation to a live agent when the AI decides it needs one. Escalations the AI starts carry no extra fee; asking for live agents on your own terms is a per-call add-on with no published price.
- Smith.ai Hybrid: depends on the preset. "After Hours Only" sends daytime calls to people and leaves nights with the AI; "New Client Priority" sends new callers to people and leaves the rest with the AI.
What to do: decide which calls must reach a person at night (a flooded kitchen, a locked-out tenant) and check that the plan you price sends exactly those to a human.
Which one handles booking and intake better?
Smith.ai builds more of the intake into the plan; Ruby relies on its receptionists' judgment. As of October 2026, every Smith.ai AI plan includes AI scheduling (Calendly and other tools), lead qualification, spam screening and integrations with Clio, Salesforce and HubSpot. On Smith.ai's human plans, booking an appointment costs $1.50 a call.
Ruby's receptionists book into compatible online calendars, collect payments, help with outbound calls, and follow the scripts you agree with Ruby's staff. A person can handle the caller who doesn't fit the script, which software only does when you've written the case down in advance.
How do setup, your number and canceling differ?
Smith.ai is self-serve on the web; Ruby is set up with its staff. Smith.ai says its AI receptionist takes about 15 minutes to set up in Quality Studio, its web tool for testing calls, and every AI plan comes with a dedicated Smith.ai number. Its human plans offer a local or toll-free number, or porting your own at no charge.
Ruby's forwarding guide asks owners to use their carrier's busy or no-answer forwarding if their phone should ring first. On a Ruby-hosted number, calls can ring the owner and roll over to Ruby. Ruby can port your number too, and its iPhone and Android app shows messages, usage and routing (as of October 2026).
Canceling differs as well. Smith.ai's AI and Hybrid plans are month to month but need 30 days' notice, and the free plan needs a card at signup. Ruby has no long-term contract, cancellation takes effect at the end of the billing period, and first-time customers get a money-back guarantee within 21 days or 500 minutes, whichever comes first.
Should you pick Smith.ai or Ruby?
Pick by who your callers need to reach, then by volume. Both are solid choices for the right business:
Pick Ruby if:
- every caller should hear a person, including the upset and the confused;
- your Spanish-speaking callers should reach a person at no extra charge (confirm Ruby's bilingual hours first);
- you want Ruby's receptionists to answer calls around the clock;
- your volume is low enough that the per-minute price is worth the human touch.
Pick Smith.ai if:
- you get 25 calls a month or fewer (the AI plan is free, card required);
- you want AI on routine calls and a person on new clients or daytime calls (Hybrid);
- you need intake that feeds Clio, Salesforce or HubSpot;
- you want a human service billed per call instead of per minute.
Neither is built around a tradesperson on the tools. The broader field, from per-call AI plans to app-first services, is in What's the Best AI Answering Service for a Small Business in 2026?
Where does Juney fit as a third option?
Juney suits an owner who wants AI on the calls they can't take and their own phone on the rest. As of October 2026, it costs $49 a month or $490 a year (USD), with 150 minutes a month on either plan, top-ups of 100 minutes for $20 in the app that don't expire, and a 7-day free trial with 50 answering minutes. There's no setup fee and no contract. See Juney's plans and free trial.
It works differently from both services above:
- Ring me first, if you want. Your carrier forwards every call to Juney. In Ringing mode, the Juney app can ring you with Ring me first for about 15 seconds, and calls you take yourself use none of your minutes. If you let it ring out, Juney answers. Or choose Straight to Juney for the days you can't pick up at all.
Keep the Juney app signed in, allow notifications and use a data connection; if it can't be reached, Juney answers. Personal calls to that number are forwarded too, so add family or regular suppliers to Excluded contacts.
- Set up on your phone. You link your website so she learns your services and prices, correct anything she got wrong, ring her yourself as a customer, then forward your calls with the steps the app shows for your carrier. No computer, no dashboard.
- On a call, she answers questions from what you've taught her, books, moves and cancels jobs in Google Calendar, texts the caller your booking link, takes messages, and puts urgent callers through to a second number you choose.
The limits, plainly: there are no live receptionists behind Juney, so with Ring me first on, the backup is you. She speaks English only, books into Google Calendar only, has no CRM integrations, and handles calls only (she texts callers booking links and follow-ups, but customers' texts and emails stay with you). Business numbers can be in the US, Canada, the UK or Australia. Juney is built by Trillet, the voice AI platform trusted by over 4,000 businesses. The full side-by-sides are on Juney vs Smith.ai and Juney vs Ruby.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I have people answer by day and AI at night?
With Smith.ai, yes. Its Hybrid "After Hours Only" preset sends daytime calls to live agents and leaves nights with the AI, from about $2.50 a call (as of October 2026). With Ruby, a receptionist answers every call, day and night, at the same per-minute price.
Which is cheaper, Smith.ai or Ruby?
Smith.ai's AI plans cost much less at every volume we worked out: $150 against Ruby's $720 at 75 two-minute calls (as of October 2026). Comparing people with people, Ruby's $250 plan beats Smith.ai's $300 plan at 25 two-minute calls, but Smith.ai's human plan costs less at 150 calls ($1,440 against $1,725).
Which handles Spanish-speaking callers better, Smith.ai or Ruby?
Both answer in Spanish, in different ways. As of October 2026, Smith.ai's AI answers in English and Spanish, and its human plans add a Spanish line at $1.00 a call. Ruby includes Spanish bilingual service with every receptionist account at no extra cost, but its FAQ gives two sets of hours (24/7, and Monday to Friday, 5 AM to 6 PM Pacific), so confirm with Ruby before you count on Spanish at night.
Updated for October 2026: clarified Ruby's carrier forwarding and hosted-number rollover.
Related Resources
Facts in this article are current as of October 2026.



